The SaaS Chronicles #1

Starting a SaaS Project from Scratch

Come along with me as I build a SaaS product and turn it into a (hopefully) successful business.

Millan Singh
8 min readMay 30, 2019

--

In early March 2019, I decided I wanted to make a SaaS product. I had an idea that I hadn’t seen anyone else tackle yet that has some utility for an audience I was familiar with: my fellow web designers and developers. Plus, it solved a problem I ran into myself when designing my own site.

My product is called KolorKit. It’s a color palette design and organization tool, basically taking Adobe Color and re-organizing it so that it’s actually useful for creating production color palettes. KolorKit is still in an MVP prototype stage, but you can check it out at app.kolorkit.co if you’d like to get an idea of what I’m describing.

This is what KolorKit looks like today, v0.2. Still pretty bare-bones MVP.

I thought it would be an interesting idea to start documenting the process of developing a SaaS product, from the early beginnings to a (hopefully) profitable future business. I hope to put these out on a roughly bi-weekly schedule, and they’ll:

  • Document my progress and the challenges I’m working on (technical and otherwise).
  • Outline a rough blueprint for people looking to develop their own SaaS product, by documenting the many decisions…

--

--

Millan Singh

Professional Tinkerer, Creative Entrepreneur, and practitioner of A Hero’s Journey. Follow me for tech, crypto, finance, and personal development.